The Department of Forestry field organization is geographically divided into three administrative areas that are comprised of twelve districts and three protection associations. The South Cascade District, which has two Units, is one of five districts within the Southern Oregon Area. This District provides forest fire, insect and disease prevention, detection and suppression activities on over 1,135,000 acres of forest land. The District contributes to an integrated forest protection system, provides for resource protection on commercial forest land through the administration of the Forest Practices Act, and administers assistance programs to private forest landowners through the Private and Community Forestry Program. The activities of ODF have direct effects on the local residents, forest landowners, and natural resources. These activities may have significant impacts on social and economic aspects of business and local communities. The District accomplishes this work with a biennial budget of approximately $6.4 million. The District employs 16 permanent and 42 seasonal employees.

Oregon Department of Forestry South Cascade District consists of two units, Eastern Lane Unit and Sweet Home Unit.  These units each have active associations.  The Eastern Lane Unit has the Eastern Lane Forest Protective Association and the Sweet Home Unit has the Linn Forest Protective Association.

%d bloggers like this: